Mississippi State football legend and Dallas Cowboys starting quarterback Dak Prescott is one of 10 former NCAA student-athletes who are recipients of the 2017 NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award, the national office announced Friday.

The award recognizes former student-athletes for their successes on the field, in the classroom and in the community. Recipients completed their athletics eligibility during the 2015-16 academic year and will be recognized at the Honors Celebration during the 2017 NCAA Convention in Nashville in January.

The NCAA Honors Committee, which selects the honorees, is comprised of representatives from member schools and conferences, as well as nationally distinguished former college athletes.

Prescott rewrote the record books from 2011-15, shattering 38 school records, earning first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors twice and being a National Player of the Year finalist in 2014. He is one of only two SEC quarterbacks to throw for 70 touchdowns and rush for 40 touchdowns in a career, joining another former NCAA Top 10 Award winner in Tim Tebow.

Prescott guided the Bulldogs to the No. 1 national ranking for the first time in school history in 2014, a spot they spent for five straight weeks. Off the field, Prescott was a leader in the community and in the classroom. He earned his undergraduate degree in psychology and a master’s degree in workforce leadership from Mississippi State. He won the 2015 Senior CLASS Award as the most outstanding senior student-athlete in college football.

Today, Prescott continues to make a mark as the rookie starting quarterback for the 11-1 Dallas Cowboys. He has led the Cowboys to the best record in the NFL and 11 straight wins. Prescott is tops in the NFL in total quarterback rating (85.2) having completed 243-of-358 passes for 2,974 yards and 19 touchdowns. He’s thrown only two interceptions. Earlier this season, he shattered Tom Brady’s NFL record for most pass attempts without a pick to start a career (176).

Before 2013, the award recognized eight student-athletes and was known as Today’s Top VIII. The NCAA Honors Committee expanded the award to include 10 honorees to recognize the growing number of college athletes, sports and championship opportunities.

2017 NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award Winners
Logan Andryk, Milwaukee School of Engineering (soccer)
Elizabeth Aronoff, Emory (swimming)
Kendall Coyne, Northeastern (ice hockey)
Taylor Ellis-Watson, Arkansas (track and field)
Nicole Hensley, Lindenwood (ice hockey)
Christopher “C.J.” Krimbill, Case Western Reserve (men’s tennis)
Haylie McCleney, Alabama (softball)
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina (women’s basketball)
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (football)
Jason Vander Laan, Ferris State (football)